About Education and Training Qualifications

The New Qualifications for Assessing and Internally Assuring the Quality of Assessment

City and Guilds use TAQA as the term for this suite of qualifications

T…raining, A…ssessment, Q…uality, A…ssurance

Who are these qualifications for?

These qualifications are for people working in, or looking to enter roles in assessment and internal quality assurance.

They have been developed by LLUK to replace the A1 and V1 qualifications and are designed for use in England, Wales and Northern Ireland.

The units and qualifications will provide people who carry out assessor and quality assurance roles in their organisation with the opportunity to develop and improve their practice as well as achieving a professional qualification.

There are knowledge only units, which allow anyone who is interested in, or needs to know about, assessment and quality assurance, but is not a practitioner, to acquire knowledge about the process. These are stand alone units but are also included in each qualification as the basis for competent practice.

At ARC and City & Guilds, we believe it is in everyone’s interest to deliver the highest quality training assessment and quality assurance and that the content of the TAQA qualifications and their delivery is fundamental to ensuring quality in all vocational learning qualifications.

These qualifications are also endorsed by Skills for Care, our Health & Social Care Sector Skills Council (SSC) in their guidance Skills for Care & Development QCF Assessment Principles

Some of the benefits of high quality assessment and quality assurance include:

  • Improved learner experience
  • Raised learner achievement rates
  • Increased learner retention rates
  • More cost effective programmes
  • Regulatory requirements are met
  • Support for other planning and monitoring processes, such as self assessment