Advisory Board

Advisory Board’s role:

The Advisory Board is a group of experts supporting the project team by ensuring that we have the most recent information available to enable us to deliver a final report that is of a high quality and helpful for people who use services. Further, the Board ensures that our project meets its stated objectives within timeline and budget. It also specifically discusses the project findings and advice us of the potential impact and implications upon local and national policy. We meet every six months.

Advisory Board members:

Professor Mark Johnson (Chair)

Professor of Diversity in Health & Social Care, De Montfort University and Lead of the Health of Minority Ethnic Communities in the UK Network


Professor Zenobia Nadirshaw (Vice-Chair)

The Head of Psychology at Kensington and Chelsea PCT and Chair of the National Advisory Group on LD and Ethnicity


Ms Ghzala Ahmad

Coventry Carers Centre


Ms Anthea Sully

Interim Chief Executive Officer of Association for Real Change


Dr John Devapriam

Consultant Psychiatrist at Leicester Frith Learning Disability Service, Leicestershire Partnership NHS Trust


Dr Peter Eggison

Head of Access and Learning Disability Nursing Faculty of Education Health and Wellbeing


Professor Linda Lang

Dean of the Faculty of Education Health and Wellbeing , University of Wolverhampton


Ms Fiona Ritchie

Associate Director at Worcestershire Mental Health Partnership NHS Trust


Professor Surinder Sharma

National Director for Equality and Human Rights, Department of Health


Ms Jacqueline Smart

Service User Development Officer, NIHR Mental Health Research Network


Ms Sue Williams

Research Manager, Kent County Council (Adult Services)