Expanding CQC ratings to include independent healthcare providers

The Care Act 2014 requires the Care Quality Commission (CQC) to carry out performance assessments of providers of health and adult social care services. These performance assessments are provided in the form of a rating.

When ratings were introduced in 2014 they were limited to NHS trusts and NHS foundation trusts, GP practices, adult social care providers and independent hospitals.

The government would like the CQC to develop ratings for other sectors that they regulate and is seeking views on this issue. The Department of Health seeks views on proposed changes to Care Quality Commission (CQC) performance assessment regulations to include ratings for additional sectors.These sectors include:

  • cosmetic surgery providers
  • independent community health service providers
  • independent ambulance services
  • independent dialysis units
  • refractive eye surgery providers
  • substance misuse centres
  • termination of pregnancy services

For more information and to respond to this consultation see here.

This consultation closes on 14th October 2016.