Award, Certificate and Diploma in Independent Advocacy

These qualifications have been specifically designed to support the role of the Independent Advocate.

Level 2 Award in Independent Advocacy

Level 2 Award in Independent Advocacy Handbook v1.0 (Jan 13)

This award is ideal for anyone wanting to acquire knowledge of Independent Advocacy.  This may be as an entry to the area or to understand the basic principles of Independent Advocacy, if the learner’s current job role requires them to have an awareness of independent advocacy.

This is one unit of 4 credits – Understand the purpose and role of the Independent Advocate.

The qualification covers the principles of independent advocacy, the independent advocacy role, communication and equality and inclusion within independent advocacy with an aim to provide learners with an understanding of what independent Advocacy is and the principles which underpin good practice.

Progression could then be undertaken in the Level 3 Certificate in Independent Advocacy.

Level 3 Certificate and Diploma in Independent Advocacy

L3 Certificate/Diploma in Independent Advocacy v1.1 (Aug 17)

These qualifications are for learners who are currently working as Independent Advocates, either on paid or voluntary basis.

They allow learners to learn, develop and practice the skills required to work in an Independent Advocacy role.

There are several pathways available for these qualifications, by achieving 23 credits from set mandatory units then the appropriate additional unit/s for the pathway chosen.

Please download the handbooks for more information.

Qualifications available in England, Wales and Northern Ireland